Board of Advisors

Board of Advisors

The Georgia BioEd Institute Board of Advisors is a group of engaged volunteers who support and guide the Institute in fulfilling its mission. The Advisors reports back to the larger Georgia Bio network and Board of Directors on the Institue’s progress and accomplishments.

  • Chaarles G. Fogelgren, MBA,  med fusion – Chair
  • Phil Gibson, PhD, Georgia Bioscience Training Center, QuickStart – Vice Chair
  • Jamie Graham, Kilpatrick Townsend – Immediate Past Chair
  • Russell Allen, Georgia Bio
  • Donna Barrett-Williams, PhD, Fulton County Schools
  • Barry Bates, Atlanta Technical College
  • J. Phillip Bowen, PhD, Mercer University
  • Henry Charlot, Atlanta Regional Commission
  • Steve Foster, Georgia Power
  • Allyson Funk, Head of U.S. Communications and Public Relations, UCB, Inc.
  • Judy Gantt, David J. Sencer CDC Museum, Centers For Disease Control & Prevention
  • Drew Kohlhorst, IHRC
  • Suzanne Prichett, VWR International LLC
  • Jordon Rose, Atlanta Science Festival
  • Scott Silverman, Arbor Pharmaceuticals
  • Cynthia Sundell, PhD, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Maria Thacker-Goethe, MPH, Georgia Bio & the Georgia Global Health Alliance

Teacher Advisory Council

The Council advises the Institute on how best to accomplish its goals to build schools’ capacity to integrate bioscience content and skills and to connect schools with industry, while meeting student and teacher needs.

  • Casey Bethel, New Manchester High School, Douglas County
    2016 Georgia Teacher of the Year
  • Marc Pedersen, Paulding County High School, Paulding County
    2016 National BioGENEius Mentor of the Year
    2016 Presidential Awardee for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching
    2017 Georgia Bio Biotechnology Teacher of the Year
  • Janet Standeven, Lambert High School, Forsyth County
    2016 Georgia Bio Biotechnology Teacher of the Year